Roots of Nature: Butter Whip Coil Cream Review

Butter Whi Coil

I’ve had some epic hits and misses in my time, but this product has been like the sun parting the clouds and creating that weird ass double rainbow thing (I think that’s how rainbows are made). It was just a random stumble in search of an everyday cream I could use.

I’m rather poor at the moment, so that jazz about buying ingredients and making your own hair treatment skipped my pocket for a real long time. Instead, I’ve opted to find ready-made products that are ready to put in some work on my hair. So yea, back to story.

I had entered the usual haven, a pharmacy, and walked through the aisle just seeing it sitting there looking lonely. After chopping my hair again, I needed to do right by my baby by getting all the stuff mommy skimmed out on before: Shea butter, olive oil and water… LOTS and lots of water.

The main ingredients are mango oil & cupuacu (when lazy, call it pikachu) butter, which at first glance you’d glance over. However, trying everything is the first step as naturalist because you want to know what products are your go to. Mango oil has been a sweet (haha see what I did) addition to the collection of alternative oils, while cupuacu butter has been a master in retaining moisture.

Mango Oil

You might think of the mango as a great fragrance but not truly a beauty ingredient. Mango oil contains high levels of antioxidants and beneficial vitamins A, C and E. Just one cup of mango contains 80 percent of your vitamin C for the day and 25 percent of vitamin A. Studies have shown that vitamins A and C have a direct influence on hair growth, making these vitamins a vital contributor to healthy hair. Mango oil also is excellent to add and retain hair’s moisture.

www.sheknows.com, The best beauty oils: More than argan oil

Cupuacu

 Cupuacu butter is gaining attention for its remarkable water absorption, rich content of sterols, overall nutritive benefit and versatility for use in personal care products. It helps in stabilization of emulsions.

http://www.fromnaturewithlove.com, Refined Cupuacu Butter

One pocket crunching purchase later, with recess to the shower to shampoo and condition, I was slathering on the cream to keep my hair soft. Right after a wash this thing is amazing. Your curls will feel softer, your hair will look fluffier. After, I sprayed Kumea’s extra virgin coconut oil to seal in moisture.

Kumea's extra virgin coconut oil

The problem I usually have with my hair is that it gets dry pretty quickly, pretty easily. So products get used up in a flash if you force feed my baby spinach when she asked for apples. I figured as well it may be based on my hair type (4c), which pretty much lives to be a rebel for any situation.

Due to the “Zig-Zag” pattern of 4c hair, moisture could be blocked from reaching all those “Need To” areas your curls may not be helpful in showing. For me, products rich in moisture and absorption helps better to hydrate my hair.

My hair is still in TWA (teeny weenie afro) stage, so styling was never really a big priority for me, but the flexibility of this product to work as a styler does not miss my eyes either.

compare

One quick note, this cream was made specifically for KINKY hair. Roots and Nature has this sucky way of designing their products, so you may end up like me and get its sister instead next purchase. To know which one is which look for the yellow strip. Its sister product was made for 4a and 4b hair I believe. Eh?! could be wrong, but I can tell you to avoid it like a male dorm without running water.

Now that’s another story…

Leave a Reply

