Specials Moments

So for the most part I have been pretty relaxed about my hair routine. It isn’t the best of practises, but I’m happy to say lengths where achieved. So as a little pat on the back, I thought I’d take on an old style that would normally have me running, The Chunky Flat Twist-out. It really isn’t hard to do… it just gets tiresome keeping your hands up.

2014-10-30 15.07.26

Now let me confess, there was another reason why you see me dolled up and ready to try this style. It was just around the time of me taking my University graduation photos and I stilled believed in the DIY nature of hairstyling. Oh, I have no bias against beauticians; It’s just sometimes what I want and what Mr. monopoly wants are on two separate wave-lengths.

As well, the energy to spoil myself really went straight into the make-up. You see, when a lady’s big moment comes calling, nothing short of empress-level glamour will satisfy the desire to impress.t.

I highly recommend this style if you want the curly or wavy 50’s Hollywood glamour. Yes! I said it. Glamour with natural hair. It is certainly a “proud chest puffing” style to have.

In the future I promise to give a full tutorial about what I did, but for now I’d like to tell you what to look out for.

2014-10-30 15.07.59

Chunky Flat Twist-Out

  1. Shows much better curl definitions when compared to a normal twist-out.
  2. Moisture is your friend, but the Eco Styler gel, or a product of similar texture, will be your best friend.
  3. It gets faster the more you do it.
  4. Section your parts. Don’t try to get everything done in one length.

Leave a comment